Kings and Queens of Spain 1479 – Present Day


Felipe VI of Spain

This timeline details all Kings and Queens of Spain from 1479 to present day.

Prior to 1479 the separate regions of Spain: Aragon, Asturias, Castile, Galicia, Leon and Navarre had their own monarchs and were independent of each other. Gradually these regions were conquered by Castile or Aragon. After 1479 the houses of Castile and Aragon were jointly ruled marking the beginning of the Kingdom of Spain but remained separate entities until 1716.


See the Timeline…