Prime Ministers of Australia 1901 – Present

Prime Ministers of Australia - Scott Morrison

A Timeline of Prime Ministers of Australia from 1901 to present day

In 1788 British ships arrived in Sydney, New South Wales and a penal colony was established. Over the next hundred years more colonies were established, each ruled by a Governor responsible to the British Parliament. Each colony had its own laws and travelling from one colony to another meant passing through border controls. At the end of the nineteenth century, after several years of campaigning, the six colonies decided to come together as the Federation of Australia. A constitution was drawn up and approved by the British Parliament and Queen Victoria. The Federation of Australia came into effect on 1st January 1901.

Read morePrime Ministers of Australia 1901 – Present

Boris Johnson 1964 – Present

Born – 19th June 1964 Father – Stanley Johnson (1940 – ) Mother – Charlotte Fawcett (1942 – ) Partners – 1. Allegra Mostyn-Owen (m. 1987), 2. Marina Wheeler (m. 1993), 3. Carrie Symonds (engaged) Children – by Marina Wheeler – Lara Lettice (b. 1993), Milo Arthur (b. 1995), Cassia Peaches (b. 1997); by Carrie … Read more Boris Johnson 1964 – Present

Taoiseach (Prime Minister) of Ireland 1919 – Present

Leo Varadker Taoiseach Prime Minister of Ireland

A Timeline of Taoiseach (Prime Minister) of Ireland from 1919 to present day

In January 1919, members of Sinn Féin refused to take their seats in Westminster. Instead they formed their own parliament Dáil Éireann and pushed for self-governance. The Anglo-Irish Treaty of December 1921 granted self-government to 26 counties of Ireland, to be named the Irish Free State, while the other 6 counties in the north remained a part of the United Kingdom. The treaty included a clause which stated that the government of Ireland had to swear allegiance to the British monarch. Members of Sinn Féin, including leader Éamon de Valera refused to take this oath and did not take their seats in government. In 1931 the Statute of Westminster passed full authority to the Irish Free State. Éamon de Valera founded a new party Fianna Fáil and when he was elected he abolished the Oath of Allegiance. In 1937 de Valera changed the constitution and the Irish Free State became Ireland. In 1949 Ireland became the Republic of Ireland.

Read moreTaoiseach (Prime Minister) of Ireland 1919 – Present